top of page
Foreign Fire Insurance Board

      In accordance with the Illinois Compiled Statutes (65 ILCS 5/11-10-2) (from Ch. 24, par. 11-10-2), the Illinois Municipal League (IML) collects a 2% foreign fire insurance tax from out of state insurance companies that conduct business in Illinois. This money is collected and paid annually to the Foreign Fire Insurance Boards for the maintenance, use, and benefit of their local fire departments.  The Board of Trustees consists of the following seven members of the fire department: six members will be elected by the sworn members of the fire department and the seventh position will be the Fire Chief. At a minimum, the board will consist of three members with a Chairman, Secretary and Treasurer.  All Board members have the power to vote.

bottom of page